She told me what to do to get a relief.

by Jan Kowalewicz

So I did. You should too.

40 x 30 cm, distemper on canvas
40 x 30 cm, distemper on canvas

“Why don’t you try painting?” asked my friend Marta between two sips of hot Wedel’s chocolate sitting in cosy cafeteria on Szpitalna street in Warsaw.

I needed something to express my emotions, that wasn’t in shape and size of teardrops. Something vibrant, colorful, rough. Distemper felt just right.

During Easter holidays I went to my parents house for regular dinner stuff. My mother has always been painting with many different techniques.

I sat down by the window of her studio with my brother Dawid. I took the canvas. Start painting.

JUST LIKE THAT

I chattered with my brother all that time. This picture just flown down my hand right on the canvas! I was so happy to do this. It felt like an enjoyable childish fun! Without any kind of expectation, any program for the painting.This is something that everyone should do from time to time. Really. Just take the paints, brush and let yourself go! Just do it!

Powiedziała mi co mam zrobić abym poczuł ulgę.

Zrobiłem to. Ty też możesz.

“Czemu nie spróbujesz malowania?” zapytała mnie Marta, moja przyjaciółka, pomiędzy dwoma łykami gorącej czekolady Wedla, w przytulnej kawiarence na ul. Szpitalnej w Warszawie.

Poszukiwałem jakiegoś środka do wyrzucenia z siebie emocji, co nie miałoby konsystencji i formy łez. Czegoś wibrującego, pełnego kolorów, chropowatego. Tempery wydały mi się w sam raz.

Podczas Świąt Wielkanocnych pojechałem do domu moich rodziców na tradycyjny obiad z przydatkami. Moja mać całe życie coś malowała różnymi technikami.

Usiadłem przy okiennym stoliku jej pracowni z bratem Dawidem. Wziąłem płótno w ręce i zacząłem malowanie. TAK PO PROSTU.

Cały czas gadałem z bratem. Ten obraz spłynął mi z ręki prosto na płótno. To była taka radość. Czułem się jak małe dziecko podczas zupełnie beztroskiej zabawy. Bez jakichkolwiek oczekiwań, pomysłu na malowanie.

To jest coś, czego każdy powinien spróbować od czasu do czasu. Naprawdę.


Po prostu weź farby, pędzel i wyluzuj się na kartkę. Beztrosko.

One thought on “She told me what to do to get a relief.

Leave a Reply

