How I learned to draw in 7 hours / Jak nauczyłem się rysować w 7 godzin

by Jan Kowalewicz

Just after this scene everybody dies leaving you as a lonely witness of bravery.

Drawing based on a famous Saving Private Ryan movie still, I like this frame – there are all of the characters (well except the ones that died before the scene). We have everything we need for a good composition – far background giving long scenery, contrasts: light-dark, high-low, work of lines, and work of stains.

The scenery forecasts a massacre, and yet relaxed positions of soldiers and horizontal composition gives calm impression that everything will be alright. They turn their faces to you like to brother in arms.

This one is special to me. I made it in fantastic school of drawing – Domin Studio after more than 2 years of practicing there. I could not get out of some schematic regular stuff, still drawing lower than average. After one of many lessons when my teacher was checking my works he stopped and said: “Fuck man, get your shit together at last!”

I did. I sat in the corner for 7 hours and drew this. Since that moment I knew I can. It was the year I passed exams for my studies – Architecture – getting 16th note of more than 1000 candidates for drawing.

This is how I started. This picture had an exceptional value for me. I would not sell it for even a million.

50 x 70 Pencil + tria markers
50 x 70 Pencil + tria markers

Narysowany na podstawie kadru znakomitego filmu Szeregowiec Ryan. Zaraz po tej scenie wszyscy giną, zostawiając Cię jako jedynego świadka honorowej walki na polu bitwy.

Spodobał mi się ten kadr – są tu wszyscy bohaterowie (no poza tymi, którzy zginęli do tej sceny). Mamy wszystko czego trzeba dobrej kompozycji – długą perspektywę widokową, grę planami, kontrasty jasne – ciemne, wysokie – niskie.

Scenografia zapowiada rzeź, a jednak wyluzowane pozycje bohaterów dają złudne poczucie, że wszystko będzie okej. Zwracają się do Ciebie, jak do brata broni. Pozioma kompozycja podkreśla poczucie spokoju.

To jest praca, którą zrobiłem w fantastycznej szkole rysunku Domin Studio po ponad 2 latach uczenia się tam. Nie mogłem wyrwać się spoza podstawowych technik, rysowałem wciąż poniżej przeciętnej. Po którejś z kolei pracy mój nauczyciel – Wojtek – powiedział: “Janek, weź się kurwa ogarnij”.

Usiadłem i w 7 godzin narysowałem powyższy rysun. Od tego momentu wiedziałem, że potrafię i tego roku dostałem się na architekturę na PW z 16 lokatą za rysunek z wyobraźni.

I tak to się zaczęło. Jest to rysunek mający dla mnie ogromną wartość sentymentalną. Nie opchnął bym go za żadną kasę.

Leave a Reply

